Sodis - Groupe McCormick

SODIS, a field marketing specialist, opted for territory management and route optimization solutions TourSolver and Territory Manager to optimize its 150 field sales promoters.

About SODIS

A subsidiary of the McCormick Group (a world leader in spice business and flavors), SODIS is a major field marketing player specialized in managing and optimizing shelf space for the Ducros and Vahiné brands. The company’s aim is to promote these brands’ new products and to make it easy for shoppers to find the spices, peppers and other baking ingredient products they need in more than 4,500 stores, supermarkets and hypermarkets throughout France

Key Figures

  • Subsidiary of the McCormick Group, a world leader in flavors
  • established in 1984;
  • around 280 employees;
  • 150 field sales staff covering the whole of France;
  • 120,000 in-store visits per year;
  • 12,809,000 euros in sales in 2018;
  • interventions in more than 4,500 points of sale.

The challenge

Organized into 20 regional teams, the SODIS field sales staff pay more than 120,000 store visits a year, representing a distance travelled of around 5 million kilometers. The company was looking to optimize its field sales promotion staff’s routes to reduce mileage and time spent on the road, with the added bonus of increased efficiency, productivity and working comfort.

Having accurate and relevant data at its disposal is also a strategic issue for SODIS, which wants to respond efficiently to Ducros and Vahiné objectives and offer these brands’ customers the very best quality service. With call schedules initially generated from its sales staff’s experience of the ground, SODIS decided to turn to a solution making it possible to automate route planning and obtain a comprehensive analysis of the information on field sales promotion staff movements (travel time, mileage, customer constraints…).

The solution brought by Nomadia

SODIS decides to turn to Nomadia and deploy TourSolver, a software solution that automates and optimizes route plan management. Piloted from the company’s geomarketing cell, this tool enables SODIS to define optimized call plans. As a bonus, in certain regions, productivity gains of up to 15% in journey time and 20% lower mileage.

A few months after implementing TourSolver, SODIS decides to complement the solution with the advanced Territory Manager sectoring solution, to achieve an overall view of the call sectors and standardize headcount allocation by region. This additional analysis also made it possible to define route organization on a bigger scale and better balance field employee workload in the various sectors.

Opti-Time TourSolver and Territory Manager Achieve greater leverage of geomarketing tools to optimize daily activities

Encouraged by its success in deploying the TourSolver and Territory Manager tools, SODIS now wants to extract greater benefit from geomarketing tools to optimize its day-to-day activities, thereby:

  • cutting field request response times,
  • better defining the locations where future employees will be recruited,
  • scheduling field routes to replace employees when they are on vacation.

Productivity

+15% productivity

Time

-20% mileage

Work conditions

Better work conditions

“Thanks to the Opti-Time TourSolver solution, field sales staff paying store visits enjoy greater flexibility and working comfort and can concentrate more on their core business of point-of-sale service. Beyond the tangible statistical results, our field teams feel better supported and can take better account of new brand constraints. Our teams recognize the relevance and efficiency of GEOCONCEPT’s tools. If we have achieved our initial objective of a 15% reduction in travel time in a number of regions, we are certain that this objective is achievable at the national level in France by optimizing the use of geomarketing solutions. We are therefore keen to improve our migration support for these tools, in particular by integrating them with our GPS and ERP systems.”
Cyril Gache, SODIS Director

Sodis - Groupe McCormick

Le spécialiste du marketing terrain Sodis s’appuie sur Territory Manager et TourSolver pour améliorer sa sectorisation commerciale et optimiser les interventions de ses 150 promoteurs de ventes itinérants.

Présentation

Filiale du groupe McCormick, le leader mondial des saveurs, Sodis est un acteur majeur du marketing terrain spécialisé dans la gestion et l’optimisation des linéaires dédiés aux marques Ducros, Vahiné et Thaï Kitchen. La société a pour objectif de valoriser les nouveaux produits de ces marques, et de permettre aux acheteurs de trouver facilement et rapidement les produits dont ils ont besoin dans plus de 4 500 points de vente en France.

Chiffres clés

  • Création en 1984 ;
  • 150 commerciaux itinérants pour couvrir l’ensemble du territoire français ;
  • 120 000 visites en magasin par an ;
  • 12 809 000 euros de chiffre d’affaires en 2018 ;
  • interventions dans plus de 4 500 points de vente.

Le challenge

Répartis en 20 équipes régionales, les commerciaux itinérants de Sodis réalisent plus de 120 000 visites en magasins par an, représentant environ 5 millions de kilomètres parcourus.
La société a cherché à optimiser les tournées de ses promoteurs de ventes itinérants pour réduire le nombre de kilomètres parcourus et le temps passé sur la route, avec à la clé un gain d’efficacité, de productivité et de confort de travail.

Disposer de données précises et pertinentes représente également un enjeu stratégique pour Sodis, qui souhaite répondre efficacement aux objectifs de Ducros, Vahiné et Thaï Kitchen et offrir une qualité de service optimale aux clients de ces marques. Avec des plannings d’intervention élaborés initialement à partir de l’expérience terrain des commerciaux, Sodis a décidé de se tourner vers une solution permettant d’automatiser la planification des tournées et d’obtenir une analyse complète des informations relatives aux déplacements des promoteurs de ventes itinérants (temps de trajet, nombre de kilomètres, contraintes clients…).

La solution apportée par Nomadia

Sodis décide de faire confiance à Nomadia et de déployer TourSolver, une solution logicielle qui automatise et optimise la gestion des plans de tournées. Piloté à partir de la cellule Géomarketing de la société, cet outil permet à Sodis de définir des plans d’intervention optimisés. A la clé, dans certaines régions, des gains de productivité jusqu’à 15% sur le temps de trajet et une réduction du nombre de kilomètres parcourus de 20%.

Quelques mois après l’implémentation de TourSolver, Sodis décide de compléter la solution avec Territory Manager pour bénéficier d’une visibilité globale sur les secteurs d’interventions et harmoniser la répartition des effectifs par région. Cette analyse complémentaire a également permis de définir une organisation des tournées à une échelle plus large et de mieux équilibrer la charge de travail des collaborateurs itinérants au sein des différents secteurs.

Exploiter davantage les outils géomarketing pour optimiser les activités au quotidien

Fort du succès résultant du déploiement des solutions TourSolver et Territory Manager, Sodis souhaite aujourd’hui tirer plus de bénéfices des outils géomarketing pour optimiser ses activités au quotidien et ainsi :

  •  accélérer les délais de réponses aux demandes terrain ;
  • mieux définir les lieux où les futurs salariés seront recrutés ;
  •  planifier des tournées terrain pour le remplacement des collaborateurs durant leurs congés.

Productivité

+15% de productivité

Temps

-20% de temps de trajet

Conditions de travail

Meilleures conditions de travail

« Grâce à la solution TourSolver, les commerciaux itinérants intervenant en magasins gagnent en flexibilité, en confort de travail et peuvent davantage se concentrer sur leur cœur de métier que représente le service au point de vente. Au-delà des résultats statistiques tangibles, nos équipes terrain se sentent davantage soutenues et peuvent mieux intégrer les nouvelles contraintes des marques. Nos équipes reconnaissent la pertinence et l’efficacité des outils proposés par Nomadia. Si nous avons atteint notre objectif initial de 15% de réduction de temps de trajet dans certaines régions, nous sommes certains que l’objectif est accessible au niveau France en optimisant l’utilisation des solutions géomarketing. Nous tenons donc à mieux accompagner la migration vers ces outils avec une meilleure prise en main, notamment via une intégration à nos GPS et systèmes ERP. »
Cyril Gache, Directeur de SODIS